Something Silver

Authors Note: I am currently in between story sharing sites so I thought I would try getting some feedback from some of the people who follow my blog as well as other bloggers. Thanks for reading -Jordan 

 

Something Silver: A Short Story By Jordan D. Foster-North

**********

Why I ever let them talk me into this I don’t know. I turned a corner and headed down Fifth Avenue. Passed the local gas station and into the local pub. I opened my bag at the bar and asked the bartender for “Chi Chi.” Why was there was a Scottish woman named Chi Chi? I didn’t know. I snatched my fake ID out of my bag and showed it to the bartender. While he examined it, I took in the scenery. It was a dark smoke filled room, with middle aged men talking to girls in their twenties. Several had wedding rings on, but I doubt any of those girls could be their wives. Something caught my attention out of the side of my eye. I turned around and walked to the window. I took the cuff of my jacket and cleaned the glass from the fog. I looked outside but didn’t find anything. I shrugged my shoulders and went to sit back in my chair. The bartender looked at me with raised eyebrows and passed me my ID. I sighed in relief as he passed me a glass filled with beer. I sucked the foam and sipped the liquid. It stung but I ignored the feeling. I watched as one man left with one of the girls. I rolled my eyes as I saw him put something gold in his pocket. He was smiling at me as he left. I smirked and turned back to the polished bar.

I rested my elbows on the soft wood and put my head in my hands. I heard someone cough as the bartender dropped a glass filled with clear liquid. I looked up and saw someone towering over me. She had long blonde hair and bright green eyes. She smirked as I looked at her dumbfounded. She took my wrist and pulled me towards a backroom. She pulled me through curtains that separated the two areas. My eyes adjusted to the dark room. I saw a wooden table with four matching chairs. I felt a nudge and stumbled to the chair nearest to the door. I looked behind me and shot daggers at a dark man wearing sunglasses, frowning at me. I turned back around and looked right into the eyes of a red head with black eyes. I looked away from her open stare and put my focus on the room. I saw the red satin curtains that we had walked through just seconds before. I looked to the right of me and saw a big black trunk covered with a tablecloth holding a vase and a black rose. I turned back towards the red head and eyed her expectantly. She gave me her hand and I shook it slowly, uncertain what was about to happen. She looked at me and smiled, “I’m Chi Chi.” I gave a stiff smile.

“Nice to meet you.”

She laughed lightly. “Don’t be so worried. Felix.” She snapped her fingers and pointed at me. “Take her jacket.” The dark man came toward me. I stood and swiftly took off my jacket. “That better?” I smiled in response and she leaned back against her chair. “I see your brothers have sent you to do their dirty work.” She gave a nod to someone behind me I didn’t see. I heard scraping metal somewhere in the pub and jumped out of my chair. I looked back and saw a man carrying a metal pole out of the room. The blonde gave out a little shrill yelp that I took as a laugh. I sat back in my chair. “Don’t worry, it’s not for you. Not now anyway.” She smiled. “Just tell your brothers that we don’t give second chances often. When deals go bad….” She let the sentence hang there. I smiled and stiffly got up. As I walked to the entrance, I grabbed my coat out of Felix’s hand and walked as fast as I could. I winked at the bartender as I passed by. As soon as I got out of sight of the pub I ran as fast as I could.

I stopped at the entrance to an alleyway and slowly walked past all the dumpsters and wedged myself between two of them so no one could see or hear me. My eyes started to close when I saw the same silver thing in front of me. I got up and quickly followed clutching a can of mace inside my bag. I followed the silver thing down two different alleyways and stopped abruptly when I saw two men holding someone upside down and another pointing something at the victims head. I heard someone beside me and gripped the spray.

“Come here,” I heard a gruff Scottish accent say. I got still. “Come here” I heard again. I gripped the mace, ready to pull and spray. Before I finished thinking about it, I was pulled behind a brick wall I hadn’t noticed before. I started to scream but found my mouth covered. I tried to pull away but he was too strong. I quit struggling and waited to see what would happen next. The men soon left. I felt him relax and quickly pulled away. I got up and pulled my mace out. I looked at him and smirked.

“Yeah. Prince charming,” I said looking at his sweater vest. He looked down at me and rolled his eyes.

“I didn’t have to save you, did I?”

“I could’ve saved myself.”

He sneered. “Whoa, Whoa, Whoa,” He said stopping my next comment. “Let’s rewind, shall we?” I put my hands on my hips and looked at him. “You were frozen. If it weren’t for me you would be dead along with that guy,” he said, walking past me and pointing at the lifeless body on the ground. I stepped back, shocked. He smiled in triumph. I recovered quickly,

“Well a Numpty like you would think so.” He raised an eyebrow. “I could’ve left anytime I wanted.” He scoffed. I rolled my eyes and started walking the pathway home. I sighed when I heard someone catching up and walking beside me.

“Aren’t you going to call that in?” He asked, pointing towards the guy lying in the middle of the alley behind us. I stopped and squinted my eyes at him.

“Who do you think they’re going to believe? Me or my record? I’m pretty sure those guys left no trail, but I’m sure I did… some how.” I started walking again, retracing all of my steps. The gas station, the pub….

“But…” I heard Sweater Vest break in, “It’s the right thing to do.” He was really starting to get on my nerves. I turned swiftly and looked at him.

“The right thing to do is to not get caught here so my parents don’t send me away.” He looked at me like I was crazy. “Never mind. Just forget about it.” I started running towards home.

“Hey! What’s your name?” I turned jogging backwards. “Bye Numpty.” I gave a quick wave and ran home.

Once I got to the trailer park, I silently put my key in the door and turned it slowly. Trying not to make a noise, I opened the door and breathed a silent prayer that everyone was asleep. The guys better have said something in my honor. I smiled in the dark at the thought. I climbed into my mother’s chair and fell asleep. I dreamed I was running from the three men from the alleyway. One had a scar across his face, down his eye towards his neck. The other two looked perfectly normal. One passed a sack to the other. I ran with all my might, but before I could run full sprint, it was blackness. I struggled, but the force was too much. The scene changed – now I was in a room with three people. They looked like Kings. Three Kings. The song we used to sing at Christmas flashed through my mind. They were all sitting on thrones. I tried to get a better look but I couldn’t look up. The only thing I wanted to do was kiss their feet. The urge was almost too much to resist. I couldn’t get off my knees. I didn’t know if I wanted to. I quietly said with all the might I could muster. “Who –“

“Shh, Child. It Is I.” I grew silent. It was the most beautiful sound I had ever heard. All the breath in the room leaked out. The atmosphere changed. I couldn’t breathe. “Do you know why you are here?” I stayed silent. “Look at me,” He commanded. It was as if some unknown being was pulling me up towards The King. My eyes started to water. This could not be happening. He was so beautiful. He had the image of man. Only He was pure. His pureness was unimaginable. He wore white clothes with a purple sash. It seemed fitting. He is The King of Kings. I felt a tear spill over my cheek. The only words I could muster were,

“Sorry. Please forgive me Father, for I have sinned.” There was silence throughout the room.

“You are forgiven.” I felt as if a weight had been lifted off my shoulders. Again I saw something, out of the corner of my eye. I turned to see a familiar face staring at me.

“Numpty?” I pointed but didn’t look back. I turned to The King.

“What happened next mommy?” Alex asked with eager eyes. I smiled from the memory. I rubbed his leg and pulled the comforter over him and kissed his forehead.

“Okay little guy.” My husband came in and lifted his son onto the top bunk.

“Come on Daddy!” they said in unison. “Can’t we hear some more?” they wined.

“Not tonight,” he said firmly. Then they turned to me,

“Mommy Please!” I looked into my husband’s eyes and smiled. I looked at our two children and sighed.

“Not tonight.” They slumped their shoulders. I shut the door behind us and turned towards him. I pulled his sweater vest towards me and he wrapped me in his arms. He kissed the top of my head and laughed softly.

“You get so much joy out of that story don’t you?” I looked up into his eyes and smiled.

“Yes Numpty, I do.”

 

 

One thought on “Something Silver

Comments are closed.