What Has Writing Done For You? What Has Writing Taken Away?

I was asked this recently (for a contest) and thought I would share my response. I’ll tell you now, it would have been over 250 words, but that was the limit. After some editing, and a fierce debate with myself I was able to bring my word count down to the required limit!

HERE IT IS!!!!

Query Letters are hard, sitting down to write is harder. What has writing done for me? I have the most fun when I am plotting, making my characters squirm in awkward situations that make me cringe. I write them with a smile and a quick stroke of my keys making my lead character in my latest romance novel fall through a fence in front of her crush. Yes, definitely plotting.
But, back to the question, what has writing done for me? I have found myself following a strict schedule and reading more non-fiction that I eve could have imagined. I love writing, but why? I feel like I am on that wave I wrote about four months ago, it’s still stuck in my head. I know I’m not being eaten alive by a bear like Cassy three chapters ago, but I defend myself against the only person rude enough to come into my room during one of tedious 4:00 AM writing sessions. It takes me places I could only imagine to go.
Writing hasn’t taken away much except my desire to go to the movies like a normal seventeen year old. Or go shopping like every other teenage girl in the USA. I don’t feel like doing much else when I am immersed in my latest plot twist, have you heard of The Mean Author? I get a kick out of making my characters run around in circles.

 

This is my last year participating in NaNoWriMo YWP, my name is Indigo Mo- I’m just kidding.
