Procrastination At It’s Finest & Time Managment

image

Let’s be honest. the one thing a writer can never count on is the time he’ll actually spend writing. Every writer says they write X amount of hours everyday. They claim they can finish a book, edit that book, and submit theat book in just a couple of months. (Hello James Patterson, nice to meet you.) The truth is said Writer can if he actually tried. It’s all a matter of procrastination and today we are going to nip it in the bud (or kick it to left field if you prefer.)

First we are going to examine the reasons one would procrastinate. Are you tired of the same plot day in and day out? Do you feel there is something better to do? Here is my favorite: “Life keeps getting in the way.” There are many EXCUSES that a writer, an aspiring author, or even a well known author would stop heading in the direction of their computer (not to check the latest tweets, I might add.)

You have to ask yourself if going to the movies or going with your sister to JCPennys to tell her she does NOT look fat in those jeans is really worth your time in the long run. Yes your missing a future Oscar Nominee but maybe your sister found an angel in the store clerk and she helped her find the perfect Levis that hug her caffs and show off all her curves (even if her father would prefer them not to.)

You have to weigh your options. What is better for YOU. Is your dream to become a published author? I hope your not wasting your time reading this article if you are in line to own the family farm. You must make time for you. Your dreams do matter. Don’t run off to accomplish other things when you should be planting your tush in your chair writing the next New York Times bestseller.

The next step is carving out time for yourself. Yes you still have to feed yourself and if you have a family of your own they need tending to also. You need to find those spare moments when there is nothing important (the laundry is caught up and the kids are taking a nap) than your writing.

I suggest taking fifteen minutes. Just fifteen minutes. Whenever you have a little time on your hands (even if you think you don’t I promise you you do!) Take those fifteen spare minutes and write. Don’t get up to refill your coffee, Don’t help the kiddos with their homework. Have some you time.

Let’s be honest here. No one has time to sit down for two hours to write the perfect chapter. Again, you have to make time. You’ll be surprised how many words will end up on the page in fifteen minutes because after one fifteen minute session you will want another one and another.

WARNING: Be careful! You don’t want to overload your day with writing and leave everything else up to the little elves that everyone wishes for but never complete their rounds to your home. You still have to keep up your responsibilities. That is the great thing about finding fifteen minutes in your schedule. Just one or two fifteen minute session everyday will cause help you boost your word count and help keep your life on track. Who knows, maybe you’ll eventually find two hours with nothing on the family planner but until then….

20 thoughts on “Procrastination At It’s Finest & Time Managment

  1. Only problem is…. *whispers* …school. *sigh*

    Still. I do try to write every single day. I don’t usually go by time, usually by amount, so I just try to get in at least a few hundred words, and then I’m okay. Of course, a few thousand is nice, too, but not always necessary.

  2. Huh? Where has your post Writing a Synopsis gone? I can’t find it… anyway in reply to that comment:

    Hehe, you’re right. Thank you, and good luck to you as well! 😀

  3. The problem I have is that it tends to take me a while to get properly warmed up at the start of a given session. By 15 minutes I’m lucky to have written more than a handful of sentences. By 30 minutes, things usually start going more smoothly.

    That said, 15 mins is plenty of time to read a few pages of a good book. And reading is part of writing, so…yeah 🙂

    • Everyone writes at their own pace. This is just what works for me. I can usually write 500 words in fifteen minutes. I took a class, and the instructor recommended this technique. It’s worked ever since.

      • I never thought I would be a writer, I never really liked writing or reading. I was a big music freak, spent a lot of time with my guitar, piano and my notebook.

        As I got older my interests shifted. I’ve only been writing for three years, to answer your question. I just love taking classes. That’s how most of my writing happens. That and writing-a-thons!

Comments are closed.