Being Unique | Words of Encouragement

image

If you are like me you are constantly on the verge of an extraordinary experience. After all, that is what life is right? One brand new experience after another. You can never have the same moment over again. You can attempt to repeat that beautiful family Christmas picture but Uncle Todd is more bald than last year and Grams doesn’t feel like downing three glasses of the “Adult Eggnog” again.

Life is like writing. You’re characters shouldn’t go through the same problems with the same issues. Each character along with each book should be different.

Think about it. Everything has already been written. There has already been vampires that sparkle and three guys who hack into Harvard. There are so many stories out there, you have to make yours unique.

How? You are unique therefore your book should be unique. It is only fair. Your readers want to pick up a unique book, your readers want to invest in a unique book. Don’t just write a character created with brown hair and green eyes. Have your character be the fixation of a serial killer who only hunts girls with brown hair and green eyes. Make your character and the book your character stars in as unique as you are.

-Jordan

6 thoughts on “Being Unique | Words of Encouragement

  1. Ah yes. Sometimes though, I’m not sure if this is just me or not, I want to repeat something great instead of facing new challenges. I guess that’s lazy rebel me coming out, but otherwise I know exactly what you’re talking about. Now how to make a character unique? Hmm… 😀

  2. Ah, darn. Guess I have to pull out a few characters… Hehe, just kidding. I only have one character with green eyes, and his hair is more golden than just straight brown.

    Anyway, this is a good point. Sometimes, my novels end up being too much like each other, but I like to hope they’re still unique from other things out there.

Comments are closed.