Writing A Synopsis

I usually (almost always) write a synopsis when starting to write a new book. I find it relaxing, thinking “hey, that is going to be on the back of a book one day!” (even if it is torn down and edited twenty times after I write the entire series).

I was chatting with a new friend on NaNoWriMo YWP and she asked me about my goal for my book. I thought about it and answered with complete honesty, even though the thought never crossed my mind.

Before I tell you my answer to her, I thought I would share my bried synopsis and then launch into a play by play of how I came up with my snappy response to my friend!

{CHARRIE} doesn’t know where her life is headed. Turning down bad roads seem to be the easiest way out. Avoiding the truth, her dead father, is easier than facing it head on. 
She has a bestselling novel and has been optioned for a docudrama and she’s only seventeen. But life can only spin more out of control without the help from God. 

My book (as I might have mentioned before) was originally a secular contemporary romance written for teens. It was still about a teenage author but her father wasn’t dead (he left) and she was brought into the publishing industry with the knowledge that writing should come first (and her mother was okay with that.) She never attended church, God was never mentioned in the book. She never even prayed before eating!

But God did change me, and that changed my characters, plot, and most of my beliefs in the way the book series should be written. I knew this series (and the many that should come after it) should be written with God in mind. The road he wants me to follow should not be avoided. Here was my response to her question, “and what is your novel about?”

“My hopes for this book series is to bring light to those people who are turning away from God. My MC doesn’t want to follow the road God has paved for her and she is turning away from Him. I’m hoping to shed some light for those girls who have no idea what they are doing when they tell God “no way! I’m not going to do that!”” -Jordan AKA Little_Diva 

I took me several minutes to come up with the words I wanted to type. It wasn’t because I didn’t know what I wanted to tell, it was more that I didn’t know how to say it.

I’m here to tell you it’s true! God knows how to put the words in your mouth when they’re needed most. Don’t force it and always let God help you when you put pen to paper.

Tha-Tha-That-That’s All Folks! -Jordan

One thought on “Writing A Synopsis

  1. I found in my first year of NaNo, nothing I wrote was connected to God. It was all very non-unique and boring, to be honest. Last year though somehow God seemed to lead me in writing it, which made me feel SUPER good. 🙂

    And about writing synopsis, I really love writing them as well, just like you said, though normally none of it makes any sense because I have no idea where my story is going. 😛

    Also, thank you so much for posting all these really helpful posts. I really appreciate them, seriously though, even though I haven’t started writing anything, I’m starting to get motivated. Yay! 😀

  2. That sounds like a really good book…and it kind of makes me think. I personally have only written fantasy before, and it’s never had any kind of connection to God before, but I think I might have to change that… Honestly, all I’ve really read is fantasy, though. That part DEFINITELY needs to change.

    Sometimes I find writing synopses fun to write, and sometimes they’re rather stressful. I often find myself rewriting a lot of them, though.

Comments are closed.