Write A Day Kick Off

I was scanning my “reader” here on WordPress and came across Ann’s post. She is challenging herself to write 500 words a day for 30 days.

I thought this was a good idea for someone who hasn’t sat down to write, really write, in awhile. I haven’t been sitting down to write regularly since Camp ended. I decided I wanted to give this a try.

I don’t have a problem with working on multiple projects. I am one of those writers who doesn’t start a new project without my current project being finished.

I DO have a problem with editing. Nothing is ready to submit without editing, I know that. I just don’t sit down to edit like I should. When a novel is completed it goes into the beginning of editing and then I stop somewhere around the fourth chapter.

I decided to give myself a select number of words to write each day and try to keep it up for the rest of the month in order to finish my Camp novel. I also decided to edit at the end of each day in order to have a completed novel (hopefully) by the end of the month.

I don’t know how my plans are going to work on the editing part, but I plan to try. You cannot submit a novel without having a complete novel with (at least) two revisions under it’s belt.

I would like to finish my entire series this year. I’m hoping to start submitting sometime next year. I would like the entire series to be completed before I submit and have the opportunity to publish the spin off which will be finished sometime this year as well.

I have big plans, I just wish I would have started earlier in the year!!! Family stuff getting in the way can no longer stop be from completing my work. I need time for myself and my writing and I think this challenge is the way to do it.

-Jordan

 

6 thoughts on “Write A Day Kick Off

Comments are closed.