A Challenge For Myself | Writing Daily

Camp NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow (July 1st, 2014) and I started thinking, when does a writer take a vacation. I started searching for a reasonable location (with wifi) and came across this quote by Eugene Lonesco. I found this to be true. We never take vacations, we are constantly in the middle of a project or starting a new project. We never stop.

As a writer a vacation sounds ideal, but I always think of something Stephen King once said;  “Read and write four to six hours a day. If you cannot find the time for that, you can’t expect to become a good writer.” I then think about my pile of ideas, sitting in a note book on my desk, waiting to be outlined and written. I find it encouraging. I’m not the only one who cannot let a project go, but I’m also not the only person that succumbs to the pressure of writing everyday. Whereas King always finds time to write, I sometimes piddle. I play on my computer, I watch television, I rally the family together to play monopoly. I have met many writers who claim they have “writers block” I do not believe that exists, I believe we choose not to write because of laziness. We choose to sit and read a published book instead of reading the unedited manuscript sitting on our desks.

This all came to me as I was signing up for Camp (pushing it, I know). I’m challenging myself to push myself this month, push myself to finish my work in progress and start a new one. When I think how long I’ve been on this first draft… it’s ridiculous. I think, by writing this post, I will be pushed to write. I won’t stop clicking on my document and I surely won’t stop pushing that word count through the roof!

-Jordan

2 thoughts on “A Challenge For Myself | Writing Daily

  1. That’s so true. Real writers never stop writing… even if they’re just writing in their head.

    However, I have to disagree about writer’s block. A good majority of it is due to laziness, but do you know how many times I’ve pulled Scrivener open, looked at what I’m supposed to be writing and just…stared at the screen for a good fifteen minutes, never able to actually write anything down? That said, laziness IS a pretty big cause for it. *glares at laziness*

Comments are closed.